This has been prepared for notaries about the laws governing their duties and is not intended as legal advice. For additional information or for difficult situations, it may be advisable for you or your customer to seek the advice of a licensed attorney.
The couple must obtain a License to Marry prior to the wedding ceremony from the County Clerk’s office.
This form will be notarized using BLACK pen.
The marriage officiant’s portion of the certificate must be completed, and the record returned to the county, by the couple, in which it was issued within 10 days of the ceremony.
A marriage license is valid for 60 days after issuance. The notary public must perform the ceremony of marriage before this 60 days has expired. Blood Tests are not required in Florida. There is a 3-day waiting period after issuance of the license before you can get married, unless you have completed the Florida pre-marital course, in which case the waiting period is waived. For non-Florida residents a marriage license is effective immediately upon issuance. See sample of simple civil ceremony vows.
It may be personalized, and the bride and groom may even exchange their own vows. But, the couple’s vows must reflect their intentions to make a legally binding commitment to each other.
We officiate all loving and committed relationships.